Farm Credit Bank of Texas Re-Elects Board Chairman

For Immediate Release February 22, 2010

AUSTIN, Texas – The board of directors of the Austin-based Farm Credit Bank of Texas (FCBT) recently re-elected Ralph W. “Buddy” Cortese as chairman of the board. Cortese was initially elected to the board in 1995 and has served as chairman since 2000. His term will expire in 2011. He also serves on the board of directors of the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council.

A resident of Fort Sumner, N.M., Cortese operates a cow-calf and yearling operation and grows irrigated alfalfa. He is president of Cortese Farm and Ranch Inc.

The seven-member board of directors also re-elected Vice Chairman Jimmy Dodson of Robstown, Texas.

In elections held last fall, stockholders of the Texas Farm Credit District re-elected Joe Crawford of Baileyton, Ala., to a three-year term on the bank board, effective in January. Betty Flores, one of two board-appointed directors, was re-appointed to a three-year term. Flores is from Laredo, Texas.

Other FCBT board members are Mike Garnett of Spearman, Texas; Lester Little of Hallettsville, Texas; and William F. Staats of Baton Rouge, La.

The $14.1-billion Farm Credit Bank of Texas provides funding and services to 19 local lending cooperatives, which finance agriculture, agribusiness and rural real estate in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas.


Pia Hahn
Vice President Corporate Communications

(512) 317-3112

Back To Top