Mississippi Dairyman and Former Texas Mayor Begin New Terms on Farm Credit Bank Board

For Immediate Release January 5, 2016

AUSTIN, Texas – Brad Bean of Gillsburg, Miss., recently was re-elected to the Farm Credit Bank of Texas (FCBT) Board of Directors, and Betty Flores of Laredo, Texas, was reappointed to the board of the cooperatively owned bank, which is headquartered in Austin.

The two board members will each serve three-year terms effective Jan. 1, 2016. Bean, who was elected by the voting stockholders of the bank, has served on the FCBT board since 2013. Flores, a board-appointed director, has been a board member since 2006.

Bean is a dairyman who also produces corn, sorghum and timber. He serves on the Mississippi boards of the Amite County Farm Bureau and the Amite County Cooperative. He is former board chairman of Southern AgCredit, ACA, a rural lending cooperative headquartered in Ridgeland, Miss.

Flores is a former mayor of Laredo, Texas, and spent 28 years in the banking industry. Among her many leadership roles, she represents the bank on the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council board and the Farm Credit System Diversity Workgroup.

Farm Credit Bank of Texas is a $19.4 billion wholesale bank that provides funds and services to 14 rural lending cooperatives in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas. The bank will celebrate its 100th anniversary this year as part of the nationwide Farm Credit System, the oldest and largest source of rural financing in the United States.


Michael Bares
Communications Director
Corporate Communications

(512) 483-9203

Back To Top