Home  /  News Releases  /  
For Immediate Release
February 22, 2010
For more information, contact:
Stan Ray, Vice President of
Marketing and Corporate Affairs
(512) 465-0577

Betty Flores Reappointed to Farm Credit Board

AUSTIN, Texas – The board of directors of the Austin-based Farm Credit Bank of Texas (FCBT) recently reappointed Elizabeth G. “Betty” Flores to a three-year term. She was initially appointed to the board in 2006. She also serves on the boards of the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council and the TMF Health Quality Institute.

Flores is from Laredo, Texas, where she served as city mayor from 1998 to 2006. She is a partner in E.G. Ranch, Ltd., a family ranching and real estate limited partnership, and serves as secretary of the Laredo Youth Hockey Association Board.

In addition, the seven-member bank board of directors also re-elected Ralph W. “Buddy” Cortese of Fort Sumner, N.M., as chairman and Jimmy Dodson of Robstown, Texas, as vice chairman. In elections held last fall, stockholders re-elected board member Joe Crawford of Baileyton, Ala., to a three-year term, effective in January.

Other FCBT board members are Mike Garnett of Spearman, Texas; Lester Little of Hallettsville, Texas; and William F. Staats of Baton Rouge, La.

The $14.1-billion Farm Credit Bank of Texas provides funding and services to 19 local lending cooperatives, which finance agriculture, agribusiness and rural real estate in Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico and Texas.